All Around Float: IMG 0166 tn

1st Place:  Ethan Trail Riders

Best Use of Theme: 

1st Place:  Sanford Health Mitchell

2nd Place:  Fischer Rounds & Assoc.

3rd Place:  Heart & Sole Cancer Walk


1st Place:  Mitchell Skating & Hockey Assoc.IMG 0212 tn

2nd Place:  Cub Scouts

3rd Place:  First Reformed Church


1st Place:  Floyd Hanten

2nd Place:  Martin-Trudeau Insurance

3rd Place:  Twin River Old Iron Assoc.

Horse Drawn:IMG 0196 tn

1st Place:  Helping With Horsepower/Reclamation-Ranch

2nd Place:  Dvonne Hansen Family

3rd Place:  Wells Fargo Bank


1st Place:  Cortrust Bank

2nd Place:  RR Construction

3rd Place:  Ommen Family Land Co.IMG 0232 tn


1st Place:  C & B Mitchell

2nd Place:  First National Bank

3rd Place:  Coborns


1st Place:  El Riad Shrine Horse Corps.

2nd Place:  James Valley Shrine Fire Crew UnitIMG 0180 tn

3rd Place:  Lewis & Clark "Animal Unit"


1st Place:  Northwest Veterinary & Supply

2nd Place:  Ann Long Photography

3rd Place:  Iverson Auto Group


1st Place:  Ethan Trail RidersIMG 0162 tn

2nd Place:  Outlaws-Mitchell Special Olympics

3rd Place:  Zion Lutheran Church

Chili Cook-Off

1st Place:  Big Daddy D's BBQ

2nd Place:  Twin City Fan

3rd Place:  Moose Lodge

People's Choice:  C & B Operations & Davison Cty. Impl.

Best Camp Site:  Smokin Sturdy Barbecue 


Judges & Announcers


Special Thank You to the following individuals for volunteering their time as Announcers and Judges for the Corn Palace Stampede Rodeo Parade & Chili Cookoff Judges

Parade Judges:

Carol Weiss - Stan Haidle - Jan Weisser - Nikki Boomsma - Amber Erickson - Kathy Horn


Billy Lurken - JP Skelly - Don Curtis - Valerie Curtis - Mike Kelly

Chili Cookoff Judges:

Randomly Selected Chili Cookoff Entrants 

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee - Jerry Luckett

Jerry Luckett

The Corn Palace Stampede Committee is pleased to induct Jerry Luckett into the Corn Palace Stampede Rodeo Hall of Fame.  Jerry has always had a passion for the sport of rodeo and joined the rodeo committee in 1991.

Jerry was born in Rapid City and graduated from Mitchell Senior High.  She went on to attend and graduate from Mitchell Technical Institute in 1975.  She spent her early years competing in queen competitions and was name the Corn Palace Stampede Rodeo Queen in 1974.  She was named Miss Rodeo South Dakota in 1975 and went on to compete in Oklahoma City for Miss Rodeo America.

Life was busy and Jerry raised four children who were all active in the sport of rodeo.  In 1989, she graduated from DWU with a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration and Education.  She began teaching at DWU in 1991 and in 1992 graduated from Northern State University with a master of Arts in Teaching.  She is currently an Associate Professor of Business at DWU and in 2015 she received their prestigious Clark Award for Teaching Excellence.

She has been a Make-A-Wish granter for over 30 years and was a 4-H leader for 18 years when her children were younger.  As a member of the rodeo committee she was queen coordinator for over 10 years and has been the secretary since 1991.  She was the recipient of the John Justin Standard of the West Award in 1999 and is a PRCA Gold Card member.

Jerry's love revolves around her four children and nine grandchildren; and she is still active in rodeo beyond the committee taking part in amateur barrel racing and as a PRCA timer since 2002.

She is proud to work with a dedicated group of individuals who believe in giving back to the community and has made many lifelong friends along the way.

Congratulations Jerry!

2018 Parade Marshal - Tim Smith

Tim Smith

The 2018 Parade Marshal hails from Minnesota.  Tim Smith was born in 1950 and attended school in Minneapolis graduating in 1968.  He studied Broadcasting at the renowned Brown Institute and worked for a short period of time in Sheldon, IA, before making his way to Mitchell, SD.  In 1973, he began working at KORN Radio and in 1978 he became a member of the KMIT Team.  Over the past four decades, his voice has become synonymous with Dakota Wesleyan University and Mitchell Kernel Athletics.

He has been named SD Sportscaster of the year four times and twice honored by the National Sportswriter and Sportscaster Association.  He has served as the president of the LifeQuest Board, Abbott House Board and the Rotary Club.  He is former president of the DWU Teammakers Booster Club and currently remains a charter member of the organization.  He is also a former president and current member of the Quarterback Club and is on the board of Directors for the SD Sports Hall of Fame.  He is a SD Amateur Baseball Association member and has also won numerous Mitchell Chamber of Commerce Awards.  He continues to volunteer at countless community events, including many rodeo activities.

He has called more than 1500 DWU games, and fans have heard his broadcasts from seven national basketball tournaments and one national volleyball tournament for DWU.  Fans have also enjoyed Smith's weekly interviews with Tiger and Kernel coaches and athletes on his coaches show.

Tim and his wife Sandi have five children and nine grandchildren.   Congratulations Tim!

2018 John Justin Award

Congratulations Penny Tilton

John Justin Award

Penny Tilton

2018 CPS Service Award

Congratulations Tim Wiebelhaus

CPS Appreciation of Service Award

Tim Wiebelhaus